Overblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
In Christ Our Hope

How to wait upon the Lord

 « I wait for the Lord, my soul waits, and in his word I hope; my soul waits for the Lord more than watchmen for the morning. O Israel, hope in the Lord! For with the Lord there is steadfast love, and with him is plentiful redemption. »  Psalm 130: 5-7  

   

      http://andrewejenkins.files.wordpress.com/2012/06/wait-for-the-trade.gif

If you don't learn to be patient, maybe you won’t be able to see the hand of God working in your life. Personally, I hate waiting. I am quite impatient especially when it comes to queue.

 

Unfortunately, it is pretty impossible to escape from queueing when I have to go to the supermarket. I always try to work out some tricks though:  

 

One day, I was in a queue at a supermarket, just behind twelve other pilgrims. A little further on, there was another queue but with only an old lady .I looked left and right to make sure it is not a trap, then I changed lanes.

 

"Nice! I am now in a new queue". Unfortunately, the cashier made a wonderful statement: “Excuse me; I have to call my supervisor to ask about something. Hold on please”.  Her call lasted so long that everyone could certainly hear my heart pounding : Boom, boom, boom-out! Boom, boom, boom-out!

 

I looked at my old queue with regret. The guy who took my place when I left, had certainly got the time to return home and have a shower.

 

Did I told you that I don’t like waiting?

 

I am pretty sure that I am not the only one who doesn’t like waiting. Do you  deliberately choose the longest queue?

 Do you know who makes me wait more than anyone? : The Lord! Listen to this man who lived about three thousand years ago:  “ I wait for the Lord, my soul waits, and in his word I hope; my soul waits for the Lord more than watchmen for the morning"

 

Waiting can be simple as looking at my watch every three minutes, but it is often trickier. Maybe you asked for a job, a wife, healing, help in a tough situation, or - well, just add your case.

 

David gives us the secret to successfully wait:

 

1. Waiting for an answer needs to keep our hope in the Lord. His Word never fails and is full of promise (v. 5, 7). Remember His faithfulness in the past and how He loves us and forgives us. It is not an expression of "maybe." It is based on a deep assurance that God is always faithful to do what He has promised (v. 7)

 

2. Calm down. " My soul waits for the Lord more than watchmen for the morning". Watchmen calmly wait for the morning because it is just around the corner.


 

Song of the day: While I am waiting - John Waller

 


 

 

Partager cet article
Repost0
Pour être informé des derniers articles, inscrivez vous :
Commenter cet article